There are numerous different types and levels of apprenticeship, covering over 500 different varieties. Each apprenticeship has been given a specific level, which corresponds to the standard of knowledge, skills and behaviours you develop during the apprenticeship.

In order to apply for an apprenticeship, you cannot have a qualification in the field which is of the same level or higher to the qualification you would receive from the apprenticeship.

You don’t have to have any corresponding qualifications within the field you are applying to. This means that you could go straight into doing a level 6 or 7 apprenticeship, if the training provider believes it is the right apprenticeship for you.

However, each apprenticeship does have specific criteria to meet in order for you to be eligible, such as grades, which are set by the training provider.

The times shown may change if you have to spend more time completing the apprenticeship. If you have not acquired Level 2 English, maths and digital qualifications, you will have to acquire them as part of the apprenticeship, which will extend the time it will take to complete.

Under each type of apprenticeship explained in this guide, there is an example from each of the 15 sectors that offer apprenticeships. If there is no example for a sector under that heading, it is because that sector does not yet offer an apprenticeship at that level.

Through discussions with key members in each industry, known as Trailblazers, new apprenticeship standards are continuously being created. Make sure to keep checking for any new apprenticeship standards in the field of your interest, as there may be our dream course coming soon. You can explore hundreds of opportunities on our Apprenticeship Standards Search Tool.

  • Agriculture, Environmental and Animal Care

  • Business and Administration

  • Care Services

  • Catering and Hospitality

  • Construction

  • Creative and Design

  • Digital

  • Education and Healthcare

  • Engineering and Manufacturing

  • Hair and Beauty

  • Health and Science

  • Legal, Finance and Accounting

  • Protective Services

  • Sales, Marketing and Procurement

  • Transport and Logistics

Intermediate Apprenticeships – Level 2

These are the lowest level of apprenticeship and are the equivalent to 5 GCSE passes of grades between C and A*. They typically take 12-18 months to complete. They are the most popular level, with over a third of apprenticeship starts in 2018/19 being Intermediate Apprenticeships.

Some examples of intermediate apprenticeships include:

  1. Pest Control Technician
  2. Recruitment Resourcer
  3. Adult Care Worker
  4. Baker
  5. Bricklayer
  6. Leather Craftsperson
  7. IT Application Specialist
  8. Playwork
  9. Bicycle Mechanic
  10. Beauty and Make Up Consultant
  11. Pharmacy Services Assistant
  12. Financial Services Customer Adviser
  13. HM Forces Serviceperson (public services)
  14. Junior Estate Agent
  15. Airside Operator

Advanced Apprenticeships – Level 3

These apprenticeships are the equivalent to 2 A Level passes. They typically take 15-18 months to complete.

Some examples of advanced apprenticeships include:

  1. Veterinary Nurse
  2. HR Support
  3. Lead Adult Care Worker
  4. Chef De Partie
  5. Civil Engineering Technician
  6. Watchmaker
  7. Software Development Technician
  8. Teaching Assistant
  9. Motorcycle Technician (repair and maintenance)
  10. Hairdressing
  11. Ambulance Support Worker (emergency, urgent and non-urgent)
  12. Assistant Accountant
  13. Operational Firefighter
  14. Advertising and Media Executive
  15. Train Driver

Higher Apprenticeships – Level 4 and 5

These apprenticeships are the equivalent to a foundation degree and above. They typically take between 3 and 5 years to complete.

Some examples of Level 4 and 5 higher apprenticeships include:

  1. Animal Trainer
  2. HR Consultant / Partner
  3. Children, Young People & Families Manager
  4. Hospitality Manager
  5. Construction Site Engineering Technician
  6. Bespoke Tailor and Cutter
  7. Data Analyst
  8. Nuclear Technician
  9. Rehabilitation Worker (Visual Impairment)
  10. Conveying Technician
  11. Intelligence Analyst
  12. Sales Executive
  13. Marine Pilot

Degree Apprenticeships – Level 6 and 7

These apprenticeships are the equivalent to a Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD. They typically take between 3 and 6 years to complete.

Some examples of Level 6 and 7 degree apprenticeships include:

  1. Project Manager
  2. Social Worker
  3. Civil Engineer
  4. Broadcast and media Systems Engineer
  5. Cyber Security Technical Professional
  6. Academic Professional
  7. Aerospace Software Development Engineer
  8. Advanced Clinical Practitioner
  9. Actuary
  10. Police Constable
  11. Digital Marketer
  12. Supply Chain Leadership Professional

For a complete list of apprenticeships with corresponding levels, you can visit the Government dedicated guide.